Episode XX Part I

‘When there’s no more room in Luke’s game collection, the 360 games will be traded in.’

Jumpin’ Jehosaphat! Episode XX Part I of IRL-Game Chat is now live!

This episode features our opinions on The Last of Us’ dlc, Abandoned Territories, Rockstar’s latest GTA Online patch and all of the news we care about revolving the censorship of YouTube video game critic, TotalBiscuit. We also chat about Rocksmith 2014, Luke’s Runner 2 experience, as well as Blizzard Entertainment’s bot lawsuit/resolution and the future of games as sports, thanks to HBO Real Sports’ eSports episode. As always, please feel free to send any questions or comments our way as they’re greatly appreciated, and could be featured in our next episode!

Music Credit goes to Poisoncut, titled Midnight Diversion.

Some links we mention in this episode:
Luke’s epic 360 collection trade-in Vine
Swordsmith makes real Assassin’s Creed blade
PS3 GTA V bundle/Arkham Games/Cheap HDMI cables sale links
Gone Home/Vita memory cards sale links
Warface launch trailer
Rocksmith 2014 launch trailer
IGN’s GTA Easter Eggs video
Everything Wrong With… a movie in GTA
13 car GTA Online skyscraper scrimmage

Thanks for listening, and game on!
Joe Finley (@MrSpudWinters)
Luke Schirmer (@LevelUpLuke)
IRL-Game Chat (@IRLGameChat)

4 comments

  1. Hey guys,

    Good luck on your move, Luke and I hope this really doesn’t stop you guys from recording. It may sound strange but you have perfect voices for a podcast 😉 Also, welcome to the PS family – I already sent you a PSN friend request. Don’t forget to buy your Vita soon, too!

    Just a quick note about one piece of news from the previous episode – the rapper that demanded a recall of GTA5 copies. You left the guy out to dry, to be honest, but you didn’t really say much about how bad Rockstar behaved in this situation. I mean how can you use someone’s work in a game and not ask them for permission at all. Unless the story is different but that’s what I’m getting from it. There was a similar case with The Last of Us and the use of a subway map, remember? Naughty Dog tried to explain that they thought there had been no license or something like that but still they didn’t take the effort to investigate it too much. This should not happen with respectable developers/publishers. If you put that much effort in a game, pay more attention to the legalities as well. Especially when the game you’re developing is the fastest selling entertainment item in history.

    1. Hey plpalo!

      You raise a good point. While I do agree on principle, I think that these two events (regarding GTA and TLoU) are two very different situations. I believe the artists at Naughty Dog made a grievous error by stealing that map and assuming that it was ‘fair use’ and could call the final product their own work. It was an ugly oversight on their part, and one that I’m sure they’ll never make the mistake of doing again due to the backlash. However, Rockstar paid for the licensed use of all material in GTA V aside from this one particular artist’s, which leads me to believe that it was just a simple mistake. They weren’t trying to copy the rapper, nor were they failing to give credit where credit was due; especially when you consider the fact that you can ‘share’ the track to SocialClub and then to Facebook, which links directly to the Artist’s Spotify page. Maybe it was simply one person that failed to pay for certain rights, or forgot to, but either way I still see it as more of a free marketing tool rather than blatant theft of the material. I’m positive that the artist will get paid for his work now that he’s brought it up, and I’m sure Rockstar is sincerely apologetic about this misuse of his tracks, as well. Just my own opinion, but like I said in the podcast (considering I’m a musician myself), if I were him I’d be more than thrilled that my work was reaching millions of players and wouldn’t be issuing a recall of the game as a whole. Thanks for bringing this up and being a part of the discussion! Game on!

      -Joe

      1. Yes, you’re right. The marketing aspect of this situation is undeniable. I’m not saying it wasn’t a mistake (in both cases). It just seems to me that in a project this large such mistakes should not happen. On the other hand, the larger the project the easier it is to omit one detail…

        I wasn’t aware of the Social Club sharing feature and Spotify linking. In that case, the musician is either ignorant or dumb. Either he has no idea how big GTA5 is or he doesn’t understand that this could help him market his music. Then again, maybe he doesn’t want to sell out 😉

        Cheers,
        – Pawel

  2. I knew I wanted to write about something else, too 😉 The Walking Dead. I stopped watching the show over a season ago – it was just too boring and it can’t compare to Breaking Bad at all so I stuck with Walter and friends (loved the ‘wire’ reference 😉 also, ziplining is a lot of fun). I also only read the first two or three hardcover comic books so I’m not up-to-date there, either. However, the game is great. Sorry for the plug, but I just finished the 400 Days DLC and put a post up on my blog about it (SPOILERS – http://wp.me/p3KJOA-3k – SPOILERS). I compare it a little bit to Beyond: Two Souls, in that both are very story-driven experiences with few real gameplay mechanics. It’s more the choices you make that matter and not how agile you are with the controller, although the latter comes in handy from time to time in both games. Although I’m a huge fan of old-school point-and-click adventures (always beating my Broken Sword drum), I didn’t mind the lack of puzzles that much because of the attachment I felt to the characters.

    I only beat Season One of the game once and I don’t think I’ll do it again before Season Two comes out, which should be later this year, right? Have you checked out ‘The Wolf Among Us’ from Telltale? I played ‘Back to the Future’ some years ago so I think I’ll continue supporting them with the newest title as well but not just yet. I’ll probably wait for the disc release.

Be a part of the discussion

